
WHAT IS A FALSE START? 

 

The rules state� “When all swimmers are stationary, the starter shall give the starting signal” 
(101.1.2.c) and “Any swimmer starting before the starting signal is given shall be disqualified if the 
Referee independently observes and confirms the Starter’s observation” (101.1.3A). 

So what constitutes a false start? These scenarios should help you paint the picture.  

FALSE START SCENARIO #1 

Swimmer leaves the set or stationary position prior to the starting signal. The starting signal is then 
given.  The race proceeds and, assuming the Starter observed the early start and the Deck Referee 
independently observes and confirms the Starter’s observation, the offending swimmer is disqualified 
at the conclusion of the race. Rule 101.1.3B applies. This is a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #2 

Swimmer leaves the set or stationary position prior to the starting signal. The swimmer upon realizing 
the early starting motion attempts to catch himself/herself. Starter says absolutely nothing, and the 
swimmer fails to halt the forward motion and goes into the pool. Rule 101.1.3A applies. This is a 
false start. 

 

FALSE START SCENARIO #3 

Exactly the same facts as #2 above, but this time the Starter says “stand please” after the swimmer 
leaves the set or stationary position. The seven other swimmers stand or step down from the blocks. 
The offending swimmer struggles, but once again is unable to halt the forward motion and falls into 
the pool. Unlike scenario #2 above, here the starter said “stand please”, but that does not change the 
false start result. The rule is clear that the "stand" command is for the benefit of the other swimmers 
on the starting blocks. When the stand command is issued, the athletes have the option of standing or 
stepping off the blocks. The offending swimmer did neither. He fell into the pool just like the swimmer 
in scenario #2. Rule 101.1.3A applies. This is a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #4 

Exactly the same facts as scenarios #2 and #3 above. However, this time when the command “stand 
please” is issued, the offending swimmer struggles, but is able to stand or step off the blocks. Rule 
101.1.3A applies. This is NOT a false start. Why? Because the swimmer remained on the blocks or 
deck like everyone else in the heat, and no starting signal ever sounded. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #5 

Exactly the same facts as scenarios #2 and #3 above. However, when the Starter gives the “stand 
please “command a swimmer(s) other than the offending swimmer instantly bolts from the blocks and 
enters the water. Rule 101.1.3D applies. The swimmer(s) clearly started in reaction to the” stand” 
command. This is NOT a false start. 
 

FALSE START SCENARIO #6 

The swimmer, upon hearing the command “take your mark” starts down to take a set or stationary 
position. The swimmer loses his/her balance before coming set and falls into the pool. Rule 101.1.2C 
applies. The swimmer should be given the opportunity to come to his/her set or stationary position 
prior to the start. A loss of balance prevented that, and clearly this swimmer never engaged in any 
starting action. This is NOT a false start. 
 



FALSE START SCENARIO #7  (added August 2012) 

What about the scenario where the Starter gives the "take your mark" command and all the swimmers 
come down and take a set position.  Prior to the starting signal, a swimmer initiates a starting 
movement which the Starter sees but instead of standing the heat up, the Starter waits just a moment 
allowing that swimmer to reset prior to the starting signal.  Surely this is not what we would like to see 
in this situation (prefer the Starter to stand the heat up).  However, is this still a false start? 

 
RESPONSE: 

In the scenario you pose no false start occurs. As long as all of the swimmers, including the one who 
initiated a starting movement, are in a stationary position immediately prior to the starting signal, the 
start is legal. Often it is preferable for the starter to wait patiently for a swimmer to reset after an 
aborted starting attempt rather than immediately issuing a "stand" command. If the pause to reset is 
only momentary, the slight delay may be less disruptive than standing the swimmers and starting over 
again. 
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