
Silver State Situation… 

During the race start, the referee whistles the swimmers up onto the blocks, 
then hands over the heat to the Starter. Upon the "Take your Mark' command, 
the swimmers come down and become stationary, but before the starter starts 
the race, one swimmer moves forward, but does not leave the block. Rather 
than asking the swimmers to "Stand Please," the Starter chooses to wait and 
the swimmer becomes stationary again along with the rest of the heat. The 
starter then starts the race which runs to completion and no 
disqualification was made. 

Interpretation of Situation in an e-mail exchange with Dan McAllen, USA Swimming Chair 
of Rules and Regulations on 3/14/13… 

Dale, 

This is NOT a false start. This was a Starter who exercised the patience we preach, waited 
for the swimmers to become 

stationary a second time, and then started them fairly. Good on him/her. There can never 
be a false start unless one of two things, 

or both, occur. Number one, a starting signal is given, and the swimmer starts before the 
signal. (Your athlete never left the blocks when he moved and no starting signal was ever 
given. One cannot be ahead of a starting signal that is not given.) Number two, the 
swimmer ends up in the pool as a result of an intentional starting action not in response to 
a verbal command to stand. Rule 101.1.3A Would anyone even consider charging this 
swimmer with a false start if the Starter had stood the field and the swimmer was able to 
stand? Please say NO. The early movement can be negated in two ways. Stand the field and 
begin the starting sequence anew, or just be patient and let everyone settle back into a 
stationary position. The rule requires the swimmer to be stationary at the start, and he was. 

Dan McAllen 

Chair, Rules & Regulations Committee 

 


