

The "John deBarbadillo Award"

For Accomplishments, Dedication, and Excellence in the Advancement of YMCA Masters Competitive Swimming.

This award was established by the YMCA National Competitive Swimming and Diving Committee to recognize the long and exceptional leadership, insight and dedication of the man who developed our YMCA National Masters Swimming Championship Program. John deBarbadillo, who served the York and York County YMCA in Pennsylvania as well as the YMCA National Swimming and Diving Committee, created the YMCA National Masters Meet to be enjoyed by YMCA Masters Swimmers for many years to come.

The award is given each year to an individual who has contributed to the advancement of YMCA Masters Swimming Programs at all levels. The inaugural presentation of this award was given to John deBarbadillo at the 9th Masters YMCA National Swimming Championships held at Keating Natatorium in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1988.

Past Recipients

1988	John deBarbadillo	York, PA				
1989	Max Zoller	Chicago, IL				
1990	Shirley A Behler	Frederick, MD				
1991	Mel Goldstein	Indianapolis, IN				
1992	Laurie A Robinson	Cumberland, MD				
1993	Paul Atkinson	Dayton, OH				
1994	Mike Laux	Westport, CT				
1995	Nancy Brown	Baltimore, MD				
1996	Gerald Meyer	Cleveland, OH				
1997	Dave & Fran Murray	Beavercreek, OH				
1998	Claudia Multer	Hamilton, OH				
1999	Rich Mueller	Sandwich, IL				
2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 – No Award Given						
2009	Fred Piggot	Chicago, IL				
2010	Mike Leonard	Cincinnati, OH				
	Tom Janszen	Cincinnati, OH				
	Rick Walker	Sarasota, FL				
2013	Debbie Cavanaugh	Fort Lauderdale, FL				
2014	Francis Parrish	Hamilton, OH				
2015	Paul Atkinson	Kettering, OH				
2016	Chuck Multer	Hamilton, OH				
	2018 Nick Gearhart	Cedar Rapids, IA				
2018	2018 Nick Gearhart was unable to attend in 2017 so the award was presented in 2018					
2019	Meredith Griffin	Cincinnati, OH				
2020	no swim meet – no award					
2021	no swim meet no aw	vard				
2022	Jeanne Seidler	Milwaukee, WI				

John deBarbadillo Award Nomination Form

Nominations due March 20, 2	2023.	Send	to:	<u>shannot1@miamioh.edu</u>
Please submit electronically.				

Nominee's Name											
Address	_ City		State	_ Zip							
Email	-										
Nominated by		Email									
Number of years involved with Masters Swimming											
Local Involvement in Masters swimmi	ing										
(Feel free to expand this section)											
Involvement in YMCA Masters Swimm	ning										
(Feel free to expand this section)											

How has the nominee advanced YMCA Masters Swimming at all levels?