The Wilton Y Wahoo Swim Team was founded in 1972 as an Age Group program and rapidly developed into a regional contender. In 1977 the team adopted the name Wahoos, the fastest game fish in the ocean, and our legacy of achievement in the national and international arenas began. The results speak for themselves. 

  • 2019 World University Games Gold Medalist- Ky-lee Perry

  • 2016 USA Paralympic Trials Finalist- David Gelfand

  • 2016 Rio Olympian for Antiqua and Barbuda- Noah Mascoll-Gomes

  • 1999 Pan American Bronze Medalist: Dan Shevchehik 

  • 1988 Olympian Silver Medalist: Janel Jorgensen

  • 25 Olympic Trial Qualifiers : 1984 Kara Devlin; 1988 Karin Andren, Lauren Curtis, John Davis, Janel Jorgensen, Robin Lewis, Stacey Porter, Julie Reid, Leslie Seward, John Vaught, Chris Weissman; 1992Steve Kuster (Semi-Finalist); 1996 Amy Lindblom; 2008 Phil Baity; 2012 Shelby Fortin, Robert Harder, Christian Higgins, Eric Ronda, Madeline Smart, Emily Weir.; 2016 Verity Abel, Ian Rainey, Stephen Holmquist, Ky-lee Perry

  • 34 National YMCA Championship Teams - Women's /Men's /Team 

  • Multiple Connecticut Senior Championships

  • Multiple Connecticut Age Group Championships

  • 29 YMCA Swim League Championships

  • 43 USA & YMCA National Records

  • 16 World Ranked Swimmers ​​ ​

Wahoo swimmers have represented the United States at these International Competitions:

  • Seoul Olympics: Janel Jorgensen (1988 Silver Metal) 

  • Pan Pacific Games: Eric Ronda (2012) 

  • Pan American Games: Janel Jorgensen (1987)

  • World University Games

  • Sports Festival

  • USA Open Water Team


Wahoo swimmers come from over 22 towns in southwestern Connecticut and Westchester County. 25 Wahoos have competed at Olympic Trials, including 1988 Olympic Silver Medalist Janel Jorgensen.